Volkan Orhon: Grieg and Franck Sonatas

Volkan Orhon: Grieg and Franck Sonatas
Item# orhon-grieg-franck

Product Description

Volkan Orhon was a finalist and prizewinner in the Concert Artists Guild Solo Competition in New York City, the first bassist to win the grand prize at the ASTA solo competition and in 1999 he was co-first place winner of the solo division in the ISB Double Bass Competition. Volkan has appeared in concert with Gary Karr and the Emerson String Quartet, and as soloist with numerous orchestras. He is one of fourteen soloists in a North American consortium of orchestras to premier Pulitzer Prize-winning composer John Harbison's Concerto for Bass Viol and Orchestra. Mr. Orhon is Professor of Bass at the University of Iowa and Principal Bass of the Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra. This album features him with pianist Rose Chancler and is an absolutely great album!

Track Listing
Edvard Grieg (1843-1907): Cello Sonata in A Minor op.36

1. i Allegro agitato
2. ii Andante molto tranquillo
3. iii Allegro
Cesar Franck (1822-1890): Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano
4. i Allegro ben marcato
5. ii Allegro
6. iii Recitativo-Fantasia Ben moderato
7. iv Allegretto poco mosso