Thomas Martin: Bottesini Messa Da Requiem

Thomas Martin: Bottesini Messa Da Requiem
Item# martin-bottesini-messa-da-requiem

Product Description

Renowned worldwide in his lifetime and remembered today as a double bass virtuoso, Giovanni Bottesini excelled in every branch of musicianship, but his operas and sacred works were overshadowed by those of Verdi and have fallen into neglect. Composed in response to the death of his brother Luigi, Bottesini's large scale Requiem combines ecclesiastical counterpoint with formal innovation and the expressive lyricism and dramatic orchestration of operatic models.

Introit and Kyrie
1. Requiem aeternam: Adagio
2. Dies irae: Allegro
3. Quid sum miser: Andante sostenuto
4. Quaerens me: Maestoso
5. Ingemisco: Andantino
6. Confutatis: Moderato
7. Lacrymosa: Adagio
8. Domine Jesu: Andantino
Sanctus and Benedictus
9. Sanctus: Allegro
10. Benedictus: Andantino con moto
Agnus Dei
11. Agnus Dei: Andante
12. Requiem: aeternam: Grave
13. Libera me: Andante
14. Dies illa: Allegro

Marta Matheu, Soprano
Gemma Coma-Alabert, Mezzo-Soprano
Agustin Prunell-Friend, Tenor
Enric Martinez-Castignani, Baritone
Joyful Company of Singers(Director: Peter Broadbent)
London Philharmonic Orchestra- Thomas Martin, Conductor