Jon Hamar: HereAfter

Jon Hamar: HereAfter
Item# hamar-hereafter

Product Description

For his latest release, top-call Seattle bassist John Hamar has gone into the studio with some of the Northwest's finest jazz musicians. Pianists Dawn Clement and John Hansen pair up with drummers Byron Vannoy and Jon Wikan for an for an intriguing spectrum of jazz trio colors. Up-tempo tunes like "Fly-by (Drive Fast)" and "Oblivion," as well as the ethereal "Sandcastle Princess" prove Hamar's versatility through all tempos. "Dark Heavens" is a unique tune on the record, showcasing the depth and beauty of Hamar's compositions, as well as the intesity of the musicns involved. John Lennon's "Julia" and Astor Piazzola's "Todo Fue" are given a new perspective. Hamar makes it clear why is is always in demand, not just for the support he provides in the rhythm section, but because of the brilliance of his improvisations and deeply personal compositions.

Track Listing:
1. Theme for Francis
2. Julia
3. Fly-By(Drive Fast)
4. Saint Edwards
5. Dark Heavens
6. Oblivion
7. Sandcastle Princess
8. Moceans
9. Todo Fue